Shannon’s Top Thriller Reads

shannons-novel-thoughts

Hi everyone! I hope you’re getting into the spirit of Halloween already, though if you’re not, no worries, I have some wonderful thrillers to put you in the mood. To get into the scary frame of mind, what is better than getting scared? I know a lot of people love to go to haunted houses, but I can’t. I have never been one to go to haunted houses because I tend to have nightmares. The same thing happens if I watch a particularly disturbing scary movie. I remember as a child loving the Gremlins movies, but I would have nightmares. I still have nightmares but they are a bit different now. I grew out of my scary movie nightmares with the exception of one movie series, or rather villian, Freddy Kreuger. To this day, I will still have nightmares if I see him! Okay, so enough about me being a big ol’ scaredy cat. 

These days, I get my scares from books because I can control what my mind perceives as scary, as long as my eyes don’t see what makes it scary. So, what makes a book scary? Well, this is what I think makes a book scary…

Stalkers, murderers, the unknown, a psychopath, revenge, and maybe some paranormal entities like ghosts, spirits, or the devil. There needs to have a high anxiety feel and a huge sense of danger. I like mine to have some, if not all of the above. I definitely need murderers! Stalkers and the rest add to the mystery and ratchet up the axiety level giving you that sense of danger and dread. Are you still with me? Want to know what books meet my needs as great thrillers? Well, here you go, in no particular order (click the covers for Amazon purchase info):

 If you want something with more romance click here and if you are looking for a cozier read click here.

Odd Thomas: An Odd Thomas Novel #1 by Dean Koontz

Odd Thomas: An Odd Thomas Novel by [Koontz, Dean]

“The dead don’t talk. I don’t know why.”

But they do try to communicate, with a short-order cook in a small desert town serving as their reluctant confidant. Meet Odd Thomas, the unassuming young hero of Dean Koontz’s dazzling New York Times bestseller, a gallant sentinel at the crossroads of life and death who offers up his heart in these pages and will forever capture yours.

Sometimes the silent souls who seek out Odd want justice. Occasionally their otherworldly tips help him prevent a crime. But this time it’s different. A stranger comes to Pico Mundo, accompanied by a horde of hyena-like shades who herald an imminent catastrophe. Aided by his soul mate, Stormy Llewellyn, and an unlikely community of allies that includes the King of Rock ’n’ Roll, Odd will race against time to thwart the gathering evil. His account of these shattering hours, in which past and present, fate and destiny, converge, is a testament by which to live—an unforgettable fable for our time destined to rank among Dean Koontz’s most enduring works.

Exhume (Dr. Schwartzman Book 1) by Danielle Girard

exhume_daniellegirard

Dr. Annabelle Schwartzman has finally found a place to belong. As the medical examiner for the San Francisco Police Department, working alongside homicide detective Hal Harris, she uncovers the tales the dead can’t tell about their final moments. It is a job that gives her purpose—and a safe haven from her former life at the hands of an abusive husband. Although it’s been seven years since she escaped that ordeal, she still checks over her shoulder to make sure no one is behind her.

Schwartzman’s latest case is deeply troubling: the victim bears an eerie resemblance to herself. What’s more, a shocking piece of evidence suggests that the killer’s business is far from over—and that Schwartzman may be in danger. In this pulse-pounding thriller from award-winning writer Danielle Girard, a woman must face her worst nightmare to catch a killer.

Lights Out by B.R. Paulson and Jill Cooper

Lights Out by [Paulson, B.R., Cooper, Jill]

When an alcoholic doctor and guilt-plagued nurse are stalked by a vengeful mother during one of the worst storms in the region’s history, an entire town’s survival hangs in the balance.

After a botched emergency C-section, Terri lost her son. With her marriage a wreck, Terri holds the hospital staff responsible for destroying every aspect of her life and will exact revenge as the snow pours down.

Karen was in the surgical room when it all went down. She has the evidence to prove Terri’s story of corruption and medical malpractice. Instead, Karen falsifies the records in exchange for a briefcase full of cash she needs to save her parents. The guilt of her actions and what she protected erodes her life and brings her to the brink. As the storm rolls in, Karen succumbs to her guilt, ready to set the record straight—but will she get her chance? She’s at the top of Terri’s list.

As residents are stranded and seek shelter, the power goes out all over town and provides the perfect cover.

Those that know Terri the best—fear the worst.

Terri, a survival wilderness expert, will take to the snow to exact her revenge and to hell with anyone who gets in her way.

Sandpoint, Idaho is about to be put on notice by a grief-stricken mother without a child and the residents will never be the same. Get lost in the storm and purchase Light’s Out today!

Blood Kiss (Savage Security Book 1) by Karen Tjebben

Blood Kiss (Savage Security Series Book 1) by [Tjebben, Karen]Alisha Woods knew she was in trouble. The situation was progressing. The harmless flirtation had long past intriguing and now bordered on terrifying. She had to take action, go on the offensive against her stalker. And as she opened the door of Young Guns, she promised herself that she’d be ready when he came for her. She would survive.

Mike Lewis lived each day knowing that life could evaporate in a moment. Ghosts followed him, haunting his soul. He craved redemption, a chance to right the wrongs of his past. And when Alisha walked in, he recognized his chance at redemption. He would save her.

After everything Mike had done to prepare her, she thought she was ready. But as the blood spilled from her lips, Alisha’s mind raced for what she could have done differently…
She should have listened to Mike.

Which of these have you read? What did you think? I have more, but thinking of thrillers is harder than thinking of any other genres. These stick out in my mind as great books that meet the criteria. If you read any of these based off my recommendation or have any questions, let me know by leaving a comment.

Happy Halloween! 

hea-full-logo-full-color

7 thoughts on “Shannon’s Top Thriller Reads

  1. Karen Tjebben says:

    Hi Shannon,
    As I was going through Twitter, I noticed your article. I was beyond shocked, thrilled, and grateful that BLOOD KISS made it into your list. I’m so happy that you enjoyed it. I’m hoping to have book 2 – AVENGING KISS – out around the New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment