#FriendsToLoversFail & My top Friends to Lovers Novels

Do Romance Novels really set you up with unrealistic expectations of men? Maybe. Maybe not. The next couple of months I will post once a week about my dating woes with some of our favorite romance tropes along with other unrealistic expectations. This week I’m going to tackle one of my favorite tropes, Friends to Lovers.

                I am currently a single mom, but back before I had my son my best friend was a guy named, well for privacy sakes we will call him Shay. Shay and I hung out multiple times a week and he always had something to say about my boyfriends, making fun of them or telling them I’m too good for them. I also never liked his girlfriend (chick was psycho). My mom, step-mom and older sister all loved Shay and were constantly telling me that I should date him. I always insisted that he was just a friend and that we never thought of each other like that. #FriendZoned. I even dated one of his best friends. We told each other everything—I mean EVERYTHING.

                Once my son was born our relationship almost faded to black, but we would get in touch from time to time.

Fast forward three years.

                I met up with Shay and one of his friends at a bar to watch a playoff hockey game. While we were hanging out, he mentioned that he hated that we were never single at the same time and that he always thought we could have something, but the timing never worked out. He flirted with me all night, and when the night was over he walked me to my car. We end up making out outside the bar for half an hour or so.

Sounds like the beginning of a great Romance novel, right?

Wrong.

He has since tried to make me a booty call. You know… only calling around midnight or when he is having a party.

This, my friend, is not what romances are made of. Seven years ago, I may have been happy to be his booty call, but I am grown woman now and I refuse to be used for my vagina.

#FriendsToLoversFail

Here are my Five Favorite Friends to Lovers Novels:

With a Twist

With a Twist by Staci Hart

Love is somewhere near the bottom of Lily Thomas’ list of life goals, right next to competitive eating and underwater cave diving. She’s spent six years pirouetting and pliéing her way up the ranks of the New York Ballet with her eye on the prize and love in the back seat. But now that Blane Baker — Lily’s long time crush — is finally single, she’ll throw her rules out the window without thinking twice.

Reality with Blane isn’t as epic as the fantasy she imagined, and the truth sends her spinning straight into the arms of the man she never knew she’d always wanted.

West Williams has been friends with Lily since the day she moved into their building and he saved her armoire from a swift, sudden death by staircase. Their friendship has always been easy, the boundaries clearly defined. With neither of them willing to risk their relationship, they’ve drifted happily through the years as companions, never considering more.

That is, until they do. And that realization changes everything. The Pact

The Pact by Karina Halle

It all started with a pinky swear…

Linden McGregor is tall, rugged, and gunslinger handsome; a helicopter pilot with a Scottish brogue and charm to spare. He’s also one of Stephanie Robson’s best friends and has fit into that box for as long as she’s known him.

Beautiful, funny and an ambitious businesswoman (with one hell of an ass), Stephanie Robson is one of Linden McGregor’s best friends and has fit into that box for as long as he’s known her.

But some relationships can’t be boxed, can’t be classified, can’t be tamed.

Back in their mid-twenties and tired of the competitive hit-or-miss dating scene of San Francisco, Steph and Linden made a pact to marry each other if neither one of them were in a serious relationship by the time they hit thirty.

It sounded like fun and games at the time but as the years to thirty tick past and lovers come and go out of their lives, the pact becomes larger than life.

Sex is inevitable. Friendships are tested. Hearts are on the line.

The pact is about to change everything.

Note: due to the dirty talk and sexy times, The Pact is not meant for anyone under the age of 18. All characters in THE PACT are in their thirties, therefore this is NOT a new adult book…even though love can mess you up at any age.

Straight to the heart

Straight to The Heart by Beth Rinyu

Gia Maynard always had a wild streak. She doesn’t mind bending the rules, except when it comes to the rules of her heart. She doesn’t do relationships, instead she devotes her time to her true love….dancing. That is until Jasper Campbell comes along. Handsome, rich and powerful, Gia becomes totally enthralled with him until she finds herself slowly turning into someone she no longer knows.

Cam Hamilton has always been like a big brother to Gia. Now one of the hottest baseball players in the Major League, he is known for his moves on and off the field. But no matter how many women he has in his life, Gia will always be his number one.

When Gia’s heart is broken into pieces, Cam is right there to help her put it back together. When they both give in to their feelings for each other, will they be able to pretend that certain lines were never crossed, and certain feelings were never felt? Will Gia follow the rules that she has lived by for her entire life or is Cam the one worth breaking all of them for?

The Virgin Romane Novelist

The Virgin Romance Novelist by Meghan Quinn

Her bosom heaved at an alarming rate as his rough hand found its way down to her soft, yet wiry briar patch…

Can you say briar patch in a romance novel? What about meat sword? That’s what it is…a meat sword, right, all meaty and sword like, slaying through the inner dungeons of a woman’s dark desires. What about breasts? Do bosoms really heave?

God, I have no idea what happens when private parts touch.

I’m a virgin trying to write a romance novel and can’t seem to write past a sex scene thanks to my lack of experience.

My two best friends encourage me to drop the pen for a while and gain some real life practice through multiple dating facets such as blind dates, online profiles, and random hookups.

But losing my virginity is proving to be tougher than expected…

Big Rock Big Rock by Lauren Blakely

It’s not just the motion of the ocean, ladies. It’s definitely the SIZE of the boat too.
And I’ve got both firing on all cylinders. In fact, I have ALL the right assets. Looks, brains, my own money, and a big c&$k.
You might think I’m an as%*$le. I sound like one, don’t I? I’m hot as sin, rich as heaven, smart as hell and hung like a horse.
Guess what? You haven’t heard my story before. Sure, I might be a playboy, like the NY gossip rags call me. But I’m the playboy who’s actually a great guy. Which makes me one of a kind.
The only trouble is, my dad needs me to cool it for a bit. With conservative investors in town wanting to buy his flagship Fifth Avenue jewelry store, he needs me not only to zip it up, but to look the part of the committed guy. Fine. I can do this for Dad. After all, I’ve got him to thank for the family jewels. So I ask my best friend and business partner to be my fiancée for the next week. Charlotte’s up for it. She has her own reasons for saying yes to wearing this big rock.
And pretty soon all this playing pretend in public leads to no pretending whatsoever in the bedroom, because she just can’t fake the kind of toe-curling, window-shattering orgasmic cries she makes as I take her to new heights between the sheets.

But I can’t seem to fake that I might be feeling something real for her.

What the hell have I gotten myself into with this…big rock?

Leave a Reply

