Hayden, I Hate You by Kristen Flowers

My life was going great until HE came along and ruined everything by making me the most famous person in the world.

He is Hayden Dunn—the obscenely rich and famous videogame-creating-internet bad boy.

And he’s just plastered my face onto his newest creation: Via Mace—the big breasted, scantily-clad, vulgar, video game vixen that’s instantly becoming the biggest pop culture phenomenon ever.

And I look exactly like her!

Now I’m tracking him down to get my life back. Too bad he’s an arrogant A$#hole that’s determined to keep his game exactly how it is. I want to hate him so bad, but when his baby-blue eyes look me up and down like I’m God’s greatest gift to Earth, I start to wonder if I even CAN hate him.

Now, with every flutter in my chest and nervous breath I take, I just want to smack him across his gorgeous face even more. Could I really have feelings for this man? The guy who completely turned my life upside down?

No. Impossible. I’ve got business to take care of.

Hayden, I hate you

At least that’s what I keep telling myself…

3 stars

This is Kristen’s debut full length novel.  I LOVED the concept of this book, there was so much potential and I had really high hopes for this book going in.  I enjoyed the original concept with the video game!

I loved Ali’s reaction to the game and they felt very real.

I loved the prologue and I felt like I was actually watching a video game trailer.

I even adored Hayden.

All of that said, this book needs some tweaking, which is why I am giving it three stars.  The POV’s were really awkward at times.  The entire book is told from Ali’s perspective, but at times Ali was inside of Hayden and another characters head telling you what they thought.  I feel that we could have done without those perspectives and we could find that out later through different avenues. Also, we spent more time in the heads of the Ali and Hayden then we did with dialogue.  The ending also felt rushed.

But, even with all of those issues I loved the overall concept and originality of the story.  I can’t wait to see what Kristen comes up with next and I how she improves.

 

Leave a Reply

